Who we are

We are made up of like-minded individuals who focus on and support the charity’s aims and goals. We are a complete volunteer-run charity and could not operate without the passion and hard work of our volunteers. Our Directors and Trustees are all voted in at our AGM by our members.

Directors and Trustees

  • Geoffrey Dyball (Chair) – Geoffrey is a chartered surveyor and consultant to the East Anglian practise of Fenn Wright. He is secretary of the Ipswich Building Preservation Trust, the RICS representative on Ipswich Borough Councils Conservation and Design Panel, and clerk to an almhouse charity in Hadleigh. His sailing history began in the Sea Scouts at Wells-next-the-Sea getting cold and wet in a clinker dinghy.
  • Des Pawson MBE (Vice-Chair) – Des has a worldwide reputation as a rope worker, teaching and demonstrating his skills at boat shows, festivals, museums and galleries at home and abroad. In 1982 he co-founded the International Guild of Knot Tyers, and in 1996 he opened The Museum of Knots and Sailors’ Ropework. Since the late 1980s he has worked with the IMT and has a keen interest in Ipswich’s maritime history and sharing it with future generations.
  • Adam Rae (Treasurer) – Adam runs his own small software company and has lived in Ipswich for more than 33 years. He is a local Ipswich Borough Councillor and has a keen interest in local history. Adam is also treasurer for the Ipswich Society and the Ipswich Historic Buildings Trust.
  • Andy Parker (Social Media and Marketing Lead) – Andy is a young and passionate local historian and heritage professional born and raised in Ipswich, with a love of museums and heritage and sharing the stories of generations of people whose lives have been intertwined with the River Orwell and interactions with all things maritime.
  • Richard (Bob) Pawsey – Bob has had a lifelong experience in business working for his family firm, F.W. Pawsey and Sons, Wholesale Stationers and Publishers of Ipswich. Sailing has been a passion of his since he was 9 years old and cruised extensively across Europe. He has a keen interest in local history based on his postcard collecting and assisting Leonard Woolf with his magnificent collection of postcards, photos and ephemera of the Ipswich Wet Dock. All this experience has helped Bob with organising our Barge Trips, and he works hard helping to get more people to experience what the River Orwell has to offer.
  • Bob Fox
  • Geoff Hartgrove

Committee Members (Non-Trustees)

  • John Warren – John is a lifelong sailor, long time East Coast traditional boat enthusiast and recent resident of Ipswich. With a background in medical research and European regulation, he has been a school governor in South London and residents’ committee chair in Covent Garden.
  • Fraser Yates (Membership Secretary) – Fraser is a lifelong resident of Ipswich with a keen interest in industrial archaeology and local history. He is also the proud owner of the historic diesel tug Fenland that resides in the Wet Dock.
  • Jane Riley